Terry Barnard to serve 9th term as chairman; David Herring elected vice chair

ATLANTA - At the June 8, 2023, Parole Board Meeting, the five-member State Board of Pardons and Paroles elected Terry Barnard as chairman for Fiscal Year 2024 which begins July 1, 2023. 

Unprecedented in modern times, this will be Terry Barnard’s ninth term as chairman. He is the second longest serving chair in the 80-year history of the agency. The Board’s first chairman, Edward B. Everett, served nearly ten years from March of 1943 to January of 1953. 

Chairman Barnard served as chair for three consecutive one-year terms from July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2017. He resumed serving as chair on July 1, 2018, and has continued in the leadership role without interruption.

During the meeting, Chairman Barnard praised the current board and the entire agency workforce.

“It has been an honor. We’ve all changed over the course of time and I have had an awesome responsibility and also a debt of humility to work for you as your board chairman. What a team we have and I’m still honored,” stated Barnard.

The Board Members elected David Herring as vice chair for FY 2024. Mr. Herring thanked his fellow board members for their confidence.

“It’s an honor to serve on this board and in this capacity. This board does not make this agency, the staff members make this agency and I truly believe that,” said Herring.

Mr. Herring was appointed to the Board in August of 2018. 

Chairman Barnard was first appointed to the Parole Board in May of 2010 to fill a vacancy. He received a full seven-year appointment in December of 2010 and another full appointment in 2017. Mr. Barnard was first appointed by Governor Sonny Perdue and the second appointment was made by Governor Nathan Deal. 

Prior to his service on the Parole Board, Mr. Barnard served nearly sixteen years in the Georgia House of Representatives. It was his knowledge of Georgia’s prison system that led to his first board appointment. You can read Mr. Barnard’s full bio here.

Under Chairman Barnard’s leadership, the Parole Board is viewed as a national leader in parole best practices and has maintained a parole success rate of more than 70%, averaging 10-15% above the national average annually.

Vice Chair-elect David Herring is a former state trooper and was a Lt. Colonel with the Department of Public Safety directing security for the offices of Governor, Lt. Governor, Speaker of the House, and Chief Justice before his appointment to the Parole Board. Mr. Herring’s full bio is available here.

Georgia Parole Board Members are full-time state employees. The Georgia Constitution provides that the members are to be appointed by the Governor to seven-year staggered terms, subject to confirmation by the State Senate. The Board has sole authority over executive clemency in the state to include the granting of paroles, pardons, and commutations including hearing death penalty cases and determining if the death sentence will be commuted to a life sentence. 

The Georgia Board consists of Terry Barnard, serving as chairman, Jacqueline Bunn, serving as vice chair through June 30, 2023, David Herring, Meg Heap, and Timothy Ward.

Visit www.pap.georgia.gov or contact the Office of Communications at 404-567-9450.