Owens to serve again as Vice Chairman

ATLANTA – Terry E. Barnard has been elected chairman by his colleagues on the State Board of Pardons and Paroles for FY 2021. Today, at the June meeting of the Parole Board, Barnard was elected to a sixth term as chairman.

Chairman Barnard thanked the members for their continued support.

“Serving as chairman of Georgia’s Parole Board can be a heavy responsibility but the other members bring so much professionalism to the Board. Their leadership has made being the chairman probably like no other chair in the history of this board,” stated Barnard.  “The stability on this board is second to no other board. We’re a good working team and Georgia is safer as a result,” he added.

Board Member David Herring nominated Chairman Barnard for the new term due to Barnard’s “steadfast leadership.” Herring added, “I know that you will continue to lead this board in a positive manner in the year coming up.”

Currently Barnard is the sixth longest serving chairman in Parole Board history but will move up to fourth by completing his sixth term.

Brian Owens was elected to his third consecutive term as vice chairman.

The Board conducted a limited meeting, practicing social distancing, and following all COVID-19 safety guidelines. The Board is mandated to elect a chairman and vice chairman prior to the start of the new fiscal year which begins July 1, 2020.

Follow this link to see all previous chairs; https://pap.georgia.gov/past-chairs-state-board-pardons-and-paroles.

Parole Board Members are full-time state employees. The members are appointed by the Governor to a seven year term subject to confirmation by the State Senate. Board Members determine which parole eligible offenders will be released to serve the remainder of their prison sentence under community supervision. Members have the authority to issue pardons, restore political and civil rights, and restore firearm rights. The Board is the only authority in Georgia that can commute a death sentence.

Monthly meetings are conducted by the State Board of Pardons and Paroles to receive operational updates, presentations and to review and vote on policy revisions. The meetings do not include reviews, considerations or decisions regarding parole for eligible offenders. 

Terry E. Barnard, Chairman, has been a member of the Board since 2010 and was re-appointed in 2017 by Governor Nathan Deal to a second seven-year term. Barnard served nearly sixteen years in the state legislature prior to his appointment to the Parole Board. Among his many legislative committee appointments; he served six years as Chairman of the State Institutions and Property Committee. For a complete bio follow this link https://pap.georgia.gov/board-members/terry-e-barnard

Brian Owens, Vice Chairman, began his career as a parole officer in Georgia. He joined the Department of Corrections in 1999. He was later appointed to Assistant Commissioner and then received an appointment from Governor Sonny Perdue to serve as the Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Corrections. He was re-appointed Commissioner by Governor Deal. He was appointed to the Parole Board in February of 2015. For a complete bio follow this link https://pap.georgia.gov/board-members/brian-owens 

For more information please contact Steve Hayes, Communications Director, at 404-657-9450 or [email protected] and visit our website at www.pap.georgia.gov.