Albert R. Murray

Albert Murray served two years as Chairman of the Parole Board. He served as Chairman from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2014. 

Mr. Murray was appointed to the Board on May 15, 2010, by Governor Sonny Perdue and his term will expire December 31, 2016. He was elected by the Board to the position of Vice Chairman in June 2010 and served two one-year terms in that position.

Mr. Murray began his career with service to troubled youth in his native state of Tennessee, including being appointed to Assistant Commissioner of Juvenile Services for the state of Tennessee. His successful career in Tennessee resulted in his appointment as the first commissioner of the newly created Kansas Juvenile Justice Authority in 1997 and he remains the longest serving commissioner for that agency. During 2003, Mr. Murray served as Deputy Commissioner of Programs for the Alabama Department of Corrections.

Mr. Murray was sworn in as Commissioner of Georgia's Department of Juvenile Justice on January 23, 2004. He ended his tenure May 14, 2010, as the longest serving juvenile justice commissioner in Georgia’s history. Included in his many accomplishments as Commissioner of DJJ were new and strengthened community programs, maintaining an accredited school system for the youth in custody, a newly created victims advocacy component and expanded training opportunities for staff. A major accomplishment as Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice was the completion of all requirements for the release from the agency’s memorandum of agreement with the U.S. Department of Justice on May 5, 2009, ending eleven years of federal oversight.

Mr. Murray has served for many years in several capacities as a member of the American Correctional Association  (ACA) and in 2009 he received the ACA's Cass Award for lifetime achievement. Mr. Murray graduated cum laude with a master's degree in Education from Middle Tennessee State University and he has a bachelor's degree in English from Tennessee State University.

Mr. Murray currently serves on the Board of Directors of Georgia Piedmont Technical College.